Robin Thicke Admits He Was High On Vicodin During Creation Of ‘Blurred Lines’

robin thicke -elite dialyrobin thicke -elite dialy

Robin Thicke and Pharrell are currently embroiled in a legal battle with Marvin Gaye’s children about the legitimacy of Blurred Lines.

The Gaye estate claims the song is a rip-off of Gaye’s Got to Give it Up.

Pharrell and Thicke gave their depositions in the case back in April, but they have only been made public today. AndThe Hollywood Reportergot their hands on the transcripts.

These testimonies bring a lot of information to light, but probably the biggest revelation is that Robin Thicke was high and drunk during the writing of Blurred Lines.

Originally, Thicke told a story of how he and Pharrell wrote the summer of 2013 hit after being inspired by Gaye’s Got to Give it Up. But now, it seems as if Thicke had almost nothing to do with the creation of the song.

Thicke said, under oath,

I was high on Vicodin and alcohol when I showed up at the studio. So my recollection is when we made the song, I thought I wanted – I – I wanted to be more involved than I actually was by the time, nine months later, it became a huge hit and I wanted credit. So I started kind of convincing myself that I was a little more part of it than I was and I – because I didn’t want him – I wanted some credit for this big hit. But the reality is, is that Pharrell had the beat and he wrote almost every single part of the song.

Thicke also alluded to the fact that his alcohol and drug abuse may have been one of the major reasons that his wife, Paula Patton, left him.

The question remains, however, if Pharrell wrote the whole song, why would he allow Thicke to receive 20 percent of the publishing royalties and claim credit for its creation? Pharrell said,

This is what happens every day in our industry.You know, people are made to look like they have much more authorship in the situation than they actually do. So that’s where the embellishment comes in.

Allowing Thicke to claim authorship was essentially a publicity stunt to make it seem as if these two crooners were equals when it came to creating the massive hit.

As far as what will happen with the legal proceedings, a trial is currently scheduled for February. It may not make it to that point, but the Gayes believe they have enough to discredit Thick and Pharrell and claim restitution.

via The Hollywood Reporter, Photo Credit: Blurred Lines

Read more: http://elitedaily.com/entertainment/celebrity/robin-thicke-pharrell-blurred-lines/756594/

The post Robin Thicke Admits He Was High On Vicodin During Creation Of ‘Blurred Lines’ appeared first on Writing Guide To Everything.

Leave a Reply

